Home » Writing » All About Spelling

All About Spelling

English spelling depends on the country…

 

Centre British/Canada
Center US
Litre British/Canada
Realize US/Canada
Realise British
licence British/Canada
license US/Canada
Disc British/Canada
Disk US
Skilful British
Skillful US/Canada
Color US
Colour British/Canada

and the list goes on.

 

Canada usually takes the British spelling which is the longer spelling even in medical words such as anaesthesia rather than US spelling – anesthesia.

For more visit Spelling style variations

©all rights reserved

5 thoughts on “All About Spelling

  1. Oh boy…I am Australian, so I follow the British way of spelling. What I have noticed though is when I post on word and then transfer that to wp, I am constantly correcting to suit, especially the words you have posted. Its so frustrating at times.

  2. In college I was taught to be consistant what ever we do because we tend to be a little slack on English. You find many using US spelling in our country and I remember being taught US spelling when I was young then our spelling was emphasized when I was older.

  3. Here in Canada, we now seem to follow a mixture of the British and U.S spelling system. However, when posting on G+ unless the spelling is 100% in the U.S. system it will show it as a spelling error. I have sympathy for anyone learning to speak, write in the English language, because it is so inconsistent.

    • You are so right and it does create a confusion. I actually had that discussion with my instructor when I was taking my Medical Transcription Program. Also, when I was growing up many of our school books were American written. We now have many Canadian reference books. I also remember asking my children why they were using American style. I guess it had to do with spellcheck. With that said, I noticed we can alternate spellchecker now.

Comments are closed.