Home » Free Writing Friday » The Ivy Covered Gate

The Ivy Covered Gate

It’s FWF, I’m late, and Friday’s prompt is to pick a title out of six choices so I chose the title “The Ivy Covered Gate” from Kellie Elmore at http://kellieelmore.com/category/free-write-friday/

Gate

When darkness fell, bats swarmed around the gate. They protected the death that lied beyond. A well-worn path led to the depleted dwelling. Rumor had it a wizened women roamed it now and then. “No trespassing” signed allured the children to the path, but no one dared to enter through the ivy covered gate. The branches undressed, bare of leafs had been cast into darkness.

Shadows of mysterious shapes loomed at dawn and when night fell and the bats came out, the children were nowhere to be found lingering the ivy covered gates leading to doom.

The only child who had ever entered was said to have never been seen from again.

Did it really have a fatal consequence if entered? No one really knew. It was all based on speculation. Do you want to go through the ivy covered gate?

8 thoughts on “The Ivy Covered Gate

    • Ha, ha, I meant not to do that. After I read your comment, I thought back about having had told myself, “Whatever I write don’t sound like a prologue.” What did I do, write a prologue, but that’s free writing. I’ll have to keep this one for future reference should I ever decide to write one.

  1. Good stuff. Reminds me of a short story I wrote last fall for Hallowe’en. πŸ˜‰ Gates offer all kinds of possibilities and where yours opens leads to all kinds of spooky possibilities. … Be well, Dorothy πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.