Home » Free Writing Friday » That Gift that Held a Special Place

That Gift that Held a Special Place

It’s FWF, I’m late again, and Friday’s prompt is to write about a special gift. Writing prompts created by Kellie Elmore at http://kellieelmore.com/category/free-write-friday/


Banana bike photo courtesy of Wikipedia

I was turning ten and birthday gifts were a rarity. It was midsummer. Beautiful out. Mom arrived home from town with a bike, no bow. I was so excited. It was a banana bike. Everyone I knew wanted one. I felt privileged. I don’t think I even went in the house. I had begun teaching myself to ride. I remember having an unsteady wheel and practicing until I could ride. It’s so long ago that I can’t even remember if I had any help at first. Then I remember riding all over town. I was out from dusk till dawn many days. I was so obsessed with it.

It was near summer’s end. I went out for my usual bike ride. I remember that feeling as if it was just yesterday. I was hurt. The bike was gone. I only had it that one summer and someone had stolen it. It was a memory I never forgot. Every summer came and every summer I missed my bike. I wanted to ride again but I never got another chance.

The banana bike, a gift that held a special place in my heart, was taken before I could bore myself of it. Every time I saw someone riding, I’d miss my bike. It was a once in a life time experience. One that took me a long time to get over.

8 thoughts on “That Gift that Held a Special Place

  1. Oh I now how upsetting that is. When my son was younger, he had two bikes stolen from him right out of our front yard. 😦

    Thank you for sharing with FWF xox 🙂

  2. I’m so sorry it was stolen! My son’s first major purchase, with money saved from his very first job, was a Diamondback Bicycle. This trick bike cost $400, and although he kept it for over two years, someone stole it from our side yard (behind a gate!). Thieves… ugh!!! I love your story, and I’m so glad you were able to ride it all over town… at least for a while. 😉 I really enjoyed your story. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Comments are closed.