Fall

Writing prompts created by Kellie Elmore at http://kellieelmore.com/category/free-write-friday/ for Free Writing Friday (FWF)

This weeks prompt is a fall word bank using the words – foliage, amber, wicker, aroma, sweater, cocoa

I’m excited for this one because I love Kellie’s choice of words.  I am titling it Fall

Sunflower

It’s beautiful out. The sunflower cheers up the garden and the amber, red, orange colors of fall are everywhere. Fall foliage – spread thickly – covers the grass. The air is nippy. A warm cup of cocoa and a sweater have one thing in common, warm my chilled body as I prepare to rake. I make my way to the apple tree. It is full of decaying apples. As I begin raking, the aroma carries with the breeze. It smells like the applesauce I just finished canning.

This whole month had been busy with fall chores. The last of the apples turned into applesauce were in a large wicker basket on my counter top until yesterday. I had started with the canning and freezing early September. I’m relieved that I’m at the final stage of fall chores. I get to enjoy this time before snow falls and hibernating through winter. Although I enjoy the fall with the beautiful colors, the crushing sound of the leaves when I walk and the cocoa, I still enjoy spring when it comes. I think they are my two favorite seasons but if I had to pick one, it’d be spring when the warm weather begins to return and new life sprouts.

17 thoughts on “Fall

  1. Wow that really carried me into memories of autumn. Down here in Oz it is spring and while the weather is warmer we are getting a lot of rain – I mean a LOT! Every season has it drawbacks I think.

  2. I agree, fall and spring are my favorites but especially spring because as you stated warm weather returns and new life sprouts. Wonderful job 🙂

  3. You guys have me in heaven with all the wonderful thoughts of fall. I am salivating just thinking of the cool air and the smells. I look forward to hayrides and haunted houses 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your lovely narrative ❤

Comments are closed.