Home » DIY » Dresser makeover

Dresser makeover

dresser Before  IMG_0926After

I decided to make an old dresser I had painted many years ago look more attractive. This dresser is solid wood but looks like a plain box with drawers.

First thing I did was empty the drawers and take the dresser outside.

Things I needed – nail gun, paint remover, Sander, white paint with tray, brush/roller. I went to the lumber yard and bought ornamental mouldings.

I began by removing the old paint with paint remover.DSCN0205 dresser1

DSCN0211I sanded the remainder to try and smooth every drawer which had old paint on them,. The dresser was sanded to smooth too. DSCN0212I put a new top on the dresser before adding the mouldings. Using a nail gun, the moulding was then added. DSCN0213 Corner moulding for added design was also added. DSCN0218 I crack filled the top with Poly Filla to give it a seamless look. DSCN0216 A smooth, 1/4″ thick moulding was then added to the drawers. IMG_0920 Then I went over the nails with a white Poly Filla. When it dried, I sanded everywhere I Poly filled. Lastly, I pained the dresser.IMG_0923 I painted the drawers. I went over the white paint with a roller on the last coat of paint.IMG_0924This is the finished look with the old handle on it which I plan on changing next.IMG_0927

One thought on “Dresser makeover

Comments are closed.