Home » DIY » Applesauce

Applesauce

apples

Many people take for granted the pleasures of homemade can goods. I never had that so when I married into a German family, I learned some new things and one was canning. I would call my mother-in-law when she was alive for recipes and what to do and she was always ready to explain the whole process. I even sometimes, when in a bind, want to call her now so I want to share what I learned just in case you don’t have someone to call. I know many of you likely do.

We have apple trees and that is where I get my apples from. The apples are tart compared to the store-bought.

Here is my step-by-step process. I first peel the apples with a potato peeler. I then sliced off apple around the core. I put a little lemon juice to keep from browning as I peeled and sliced each apple, a tiresome process. I added a cup of sugar to the apples. They still taste tart because it is a big pot but making it as low sugar as I can for this type of apple.

DSCN0255

DSCN0256

DSCN0257

DSCN0265

I cook until the apples become soft. It will start to turn into a sauce and any that don’t breakdown, I mash. I could have likely ran it through a processor.

DSCN0263 DSCN0267

I place the lids in hot water and the jars in the oven to sterilize. When the apples are ready, I jar and seal. I then put them in a processor. You may have heard some say you don’t need to process but you should if you are not going to use the applesauce up soon. Processing helps to preserve the food longer. When the processing is done, 25 minutes or more depending on the size of jars,  I place the jars on the counter and cover over night then store in a cool place.

DSCN0269DSCN0270

DSCN0272DSCN0273

