Home » Repost » Fall – Rewrite

Fall – Rewrite

 

Sunflower

It’s beautiful out with the sun shining. The sunflower that had cheered up the garden with its amber colors has now turned brown. Golden yellow, red and orange of fall that were everywhere has now Fallen. The foliage has covered the grass. The air is nippy. I don’t want to step into the breeze of fall.

I prepare a warm cup of Cocoa and slip on a sweater. I go to the tool shed and get the rake. I slowly make my way to the apple tree as I sip my hot chocolate. There are decayed apples everywhere mixed with dead leaves. Putting my hot chocolate down, I begin raking. The aroma of the apples carry with the breeze. It smells like the applesauce I had just finished canning.

This whole month had been busy with fall chores. The last of the apples turned into applesauce were in a large wicker basket on my counter top until yesterday. I had started with the canning and freezing early September. I’m relieved that I’m at the final stage of fall chores. I get to enjoy this time before snow falls and hibernating through winter. Although I enjoy the fall with the beautiful colors, the crushing sound of the leaves when they have fallen and have a reason to make hot drinks, I don’t look forward to where we are heading. Fall breeze, cool to the bone, feels like snow is near. The dried leaves covering my lawn have to be raked before they get buried by snow. The dreadful part of fall that leads to winter blues.

S.L.S Oborowsky

Rewrite of Fall prompt by Kellie Elmore. Original post – Fall

2 thoughts on “Fall – Rewrite

Comments are closed.