Home » Writing » Holiday Stresses

Holiday Stresses

I tossed and turned. A minute passed 12 and I was still awake. It was the night before Christmas Eve and all I could think about was all that I still had to do with preparing two different suppers and making time for gift opening on Christmas. My heart raced, my mind swirled. It was as if I hadn’t done this before. Every year, the same. I don’t know why I was a basket case this year. Maybe it was  the back-to-back suppers, splitting up the holiday dinners. I knew it would all be fine but try telling that to the mind.

I awoke, 9:35 am. I don’t remember when I fell asleep but I somehow did because it was morning. I rose. The room was quiet. It seemed I was up before everyone except the pets. I started the coffee and went and freshened up. Not a creature did I arose with my nosy start: pots banged, coffee percolated, doors opened and closed. If it were I, I know I would have been awakened! I prepped much of supper when noise of pitter-patter startled me. “Good morning Mom. Need any help?” Said my daughter as she entered.

Before I knew everyone was up and prancing around. With more movement of bodies, the supper prepping started coming together. Before long us girls were sitting around visiting like the males in the man-cave who had been relaxing.

100_2043