Home » Free Writing Friday » My Contribution

My Contribution

Writing prompts created by Kellie Elmore at http://kellieelmore.com/category/free-write-friday/. Should you wish to join, click on the link. More info to the prompt can also be found there. This is from Apple’s latest ad. To see it go to Kellie’s blog and click on the ad there.

The following is the speech for (Free Write/Writing Friday) FWF prompt.” What will your verse be?”

“We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beautyfwf kellie elmore badge, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for. To quote from Whitman, “O me! O life!… of the questions of these recurring; of the endless trains of the faithless… of cities filled with the foolish; what good amid these, O me, O life?” Answer. That you are here – that life exists, and identity; that the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse. That the powerful play *goes on* and you may contribute a verse. What will your verse be?” — John Keating (Robin Williams) Dead Poets Society

                   

 My Contributed Verse

I spread thy wings

early morning arising

to fulfill a longing

desireth for growing

for I was born to live

life to its fullest

in pursuit

for which the heart cravith

S.L.S Oborowsky – All rights reserved, 2014

6 thoughts on “My Contribution

Comments are closed.