Home » Writing » Dialect/dialog

Dialect/dialog

dialect

 

I always felt I was wrong when I commented about dialect of the Cree and would get told “You mean dialog” until I finally was confident as to what I was referring to. I’m not sure if many are unaware of what dialect refers to but I was talking about the language used and how different dialects exist in Cree: There is the “y”, “N” just to name two types. Now that I’m confident about the difference between dialect and dialog I know that I’d been right. I thought I’d share this post with you as to the dialect issue. If anyone feels they get the same response, you’re not alone. It’s quite common to get corrected in error. It’s too common to automatically think a person is referring to dialog when expressing dialect of languages because it’s also spoken.

2 thoughts on “Dialect/dialog

  1. Dialect was initially a stumbling block for me when I wrote “The Zebra Affaire” because the local South African colloquialism’s, though familiar to me, would be potentially uncomfortable for an American reader. That said, the correct dialect provided much needed authenticity to the book. So what was I to do?

    I chose to go for “different” rather than truly authentic, in the dialog ushering forth from the mouths of indigenous folks, and in this way the reader perceives the distinction without getting confused by the local patois.

Comments are closed.