Home » DIY » Chair Redo

Chair Redo

Chair

To start you’ll need wood glue, screws, table saw, Sander, new dowels, material (fabric), wood stapler and paint.

Chair1

First thing I did was strip down the chairs. Then I took the back legs off. I got my husband to saw off the middle horizontal bar and had him put three vertical square dowels in for which I measured and sawed to a 5 degree angle. We glued and put screws to secure the dowels in place. I then plugged the sunk-in screw holes on the top and sanded the backs before painting.

Chair2

I bought brown vinyl and used the old batting that was off the seats because it was already tailored to the original seats. I cut the vinyl to fit that it draped down the sides and front so that it wrapped around the frame and just under to be stapled. I didn’t have to do any tailoring so there was no sewing involved.

DSCN2127

Here is the final outcome. The table was also redone. However, I didn’t record the project. All I did was paint the legs and sand the table top before re-finishing it with stain and varnish. To see the bench project go to Making a Bench.

4 thoughts on “Chair Redo

Comments are closed.