Home » DIY » Turning a TV Stand into a Bench

Turning a TV Stand into a Bench

BenchProj

Bench Bench1

Wondering what to do with the old, plain TV stand? Well, here is an idea. Take it apart and turn it into a bench with a coat rack. That is a project I took on. Here is what I did with the help of my daughter and husband.

Bench2 Bench3

After it was apart, I sanded it so that I could paint it when the project was complete.

Bench4 Bench5 Bench6

Since I didn’t have a saw, I had a few helpers. I had the legs cut, leaving the ledge on so that the new top board, which was the middle, would now be the top. When the legs were cut, I attached the bottom base so I could draw a line on the inside where I wanted to slide a back and side piece of plywood in to box it in, leaving the front open for drawers.

Bench7 Bench10 Bench8

The line needed to be about 1/4 inch in and the depth of the cut should be at least 1/8 deep. I then had the line cut down the leg from the top down to the next notch, which is to the bottom base. I measured sides, both length and hight. and had a 1/4 inch sheet of plywood cut to size.

Bench8 Bench9 Bench11

Next was to make a middle so the drawer track could attach to it. Once that was done it was time to make a drawer. The drawers needed to be as accurate as possible, a bit smaller on the inside is okay because it could be adjusted until if fits in and slides with ease using shim.

bench12 Bench14

I painted the finished bench part and moved on to the next thing, making the top part (optional).

Bench15 Bench16

I had to use my daughter to cut the first part of the coat rack frame. It should be at least 6′ high total from the floor, with the bench, to the top of the rack. Once I marked the cuts, hight and width of the bench, I sent the two side 4 x 4 boards and the top 6 x 2 board with the bottom 4 x 2 board to be cut. She had done an accurate cut. Once the frame was put together I had the plywood that was left over from the framing of the bench attached to the frame. I cut two strips of 2 x 2 for the centre to dress it up.

Bench17 Bench20

Now it was my turn to take over the cutting. I wanted a top shelf so I measured a 2 x 6 board to the width of the top frame. Then with a 45-degree-angle cut I cut a 2 x 4 for the front face of the shelf and sides and a quarter round extending the length to fit around the front 2 x 4 and sides.

Bench18 Bench19

I attached the top and then cut a 4 x 4 and 2 x 4 piece for the center of the arm and a top and bottom 2 x 4 arm rest. I attached that to the frame.

Bench21 Bench22

I painted it and the hooks were put on to match the door handles. Adding a cushion and pillow matching the curtain tied the room together. To make the cushion go to – bench Cushion.

Bench23 Bench24

Bench25

